Showing posts with label Grant Aleksander. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Grant Aleksander. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

He Is Just Away - Episode Breakdown


9/16/09

I cannot say, and I will not say

That he is dead. He is just away.

With a cheery smile, and a wave of the hand,

He has wandered into an unknown land.

- James Whitcomb Riley (Excerpt)


Phillip and Rick

As I watched the first two scenes of this episode I got all choked up, not just because Alan is dead and Phillip is suffering, but because I realized that I've been watching these two men together since they were practically still boys. We grew up together and, after Friday, I'll never see Freddie and Phillip, again. Guiding Light has treated us to some really wonderful friendships over the years, and this is one of the most enduring. Who else would Phillip call on finding his dead father, but his oldest and best friend? I love these guys together. I love it that the drama of the final episodes provided these characters with a chance to be on screen in a meaningful way. Grant Aleksander's performance was, once again, perfect. He looks as if his heart is broken, and it breaks my heart to see him.

Reva and Jonathan

I've hardly cared about these two until today, and the only reason I care today is because Reva is handling her son's homecoming the way Natalia should have handled Rafe's return from prison. Reva and Jonathan together scream REALISM. Reva's not having any of the weird behavior Jonathan has picked up while he's been on the run. She lays down the law: now that you've re-entered the real world, real world rules apply, so get over yourself. Why, why, why couldn't Natalia have handled Rafe in this way months ago? No wonder he's a douchebag.

I also like that Alan's death lights a fire under Reva and pushes her into facing the fact that loss is, sadly, a part of life, but that life goes on. Nice nod to the fact that Alan and Reva were married once. They were even happy for a little while.

I'm going to ask this, again: why do the wardrobe people hate Kim Zimmer? We've seen her at the Emmy Awards and the Paley event, where she looked great. It's almost as if the wardrobe people looked for the least flattering dress they could possibly find for Kim. Kim isn't 20. And she's not a size 3. Neither are most of us. She's a real woman - something we hardly get to see anymore. "Real" does not have to mean "dowdy." Reva Shayne is not dowdy.

Alexandra Spaulding

If yesterday's episode belonged to Grant Aleksander, today was Marj Dusay's turn to shine. It's about damned time. Alex's controlled, understated reaction to losing her beloved brother was spot-on. Dusay didn't miss a beat. It's unfortunate the actors playing the servants haven't been series regulars, because Dusay was great in that scene, while the actors playing the servants looked like two day players who were really excited to actually have lines.

I loved the way Alex took control and laid out the plans for Alan's funeral. Alex is, after all, the head of the family. For many years, while Alan was away, Alex really was head of the family. She has experience in this area. She does not drop the ball. Alex keeps her shit together, keeps tough, and breaks down when she can do it alone. We saw this years ago when she had her heart crushed by Roger. We saw it again today. The final scene with Alex and Alan's corpse felt like eavesdropping or looking through a peephole at a private moment. Beautiful work from Dusay. What a shame she's been on the shelf for so long.

James

Damn you for making me like you a little bit. What a lousy way to find out your grandfather has died. When James hugged Phillip, I let out a sigh of relief.

Rafe

Rafe is a jerk. He spends a private moment of bonding with Frank, thanks him profusely for all he's done for him, but can't muster up much more than an "I have to go" for his own mother? What about all your mother has done for you, Rafe? All she's given you? Like...basically...everything. And don't get me started on his asking Olivia to take care of Natalia for him. My rant to Rafe: You never even apologized, you little shit! The last time we saw you talking to Olivia, you were gloating and telling her that she was going to end up alone. You don't get to do that shit, never even apologize, and then ask Olivia to take care of your mom, as if nothing has happened. And, no - giving Emma a quarter does not make up for your bad behavior. Being nice to a kid who has just lost her grandfather is the absolute least that's expected from adults in the real world. You don't get a medal for that.

Another thing - I'm sick of hearing that Rafe is a hero. The script writers clearly need a thesaurus. They used this word for Mallet, too. Rafe is not a hero. He's a homophobic bastard who is so afraid of facing the fact that his mother loves another woman, that he's opted to join the army. It's called running away from home. Hiding behind a uniform and a war doesn't make it any less cowardly.

Olivia and Natalia

Sweet. That's pretty much it. They should have made out as Rafe's bus pulled out. I like the idea of him being deployed to Iraq with the image of his mother being groped by Olivia cemented into his brain.

Buh bye, Rafe!

Odds and Sods

Olivia's nail polish is nasty. Sorry, but Herman Munster is not the look Olivia should strive for.

This just occurred to me - why the hell wasn't Ed Bauer at Vanessa's wedding? He's one of her oldest, dearest friends. Dumb oversight.

Did anyone else laugh when Alex told Rick that no one blamed him for Alan's death? Translation: You've killed another patient, Rick!

The fact that Peyton has been invisible for years came back to haunt GL today: the child playing Peyton is just some cute, generic kid who clearly has no rapport with Beth Chamberlain. What could have been a touching scene if the child had at least felt comfortable making eye contact with Chamberlain, ended up being nothing more than a tedious waste of time. We don't know Peyton, so we don't really care about Peyton.

I think it was Nelson Branco who recently wrote that it's wise for writers who don't know how to write for Grant Aleksander to allow his action to take place out of earshot. I liked it that we saw, but didn't hear, as Phillip broke the news of Alan's death to Lizzie. I don't know if the person writing that day's script felt unable to write dialogue for that scene, or why they chose to film it in this way, but it worked.


Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Of Fathers and Sons - Episode Breakdown



9/15/09



The Lewis Family

Josh and Reva have come full circle and, as I was sure would be the case, there is no reuniting these two. I know many fans will find this heartbreaking, but I like it. In some ways, Josh and Reva's relationship can be just as unhealthy as the relationship Holly and Roger shared. They're better suited as friends. If they ended up together now, it would only be because Reva is lost without Jefferey. Josh's announcement that he will be leaving Springfield because there's no one left to take care of is bittersweet, but logical, and it's good soap opera. He and Reva have played out all they can play out, and the fact that they no longer make sense as a couple reminds me of AMC's Palmer and Daisy, and the last time they parted. I believe Daisy told Palmer, "It's been a lovely, wild ride, but the ride is over." The Reva/Josh tilt-a-whirl has stopped.

Josh's speech about Billy and Vanessa made me mushy. He's right, of course; Vanessa has always brought out the best in Billy. And there's always been such strong affection between Josh and Vanessa - even when Vanessa divorced Billy, she and Josh still lived in the family home together. Their bond has long been like that of a brother and sister.

The Reardons

I'm so glad that Matt was not excluded from GL's final week, but that his inclusion in the wedding festivities was not all HAPPYHAPPYJOYJOY. Matt loves Vanessa. He always will. If Guiding Light were going to continue, I'm sure Matt would continue on as a tortured soul who has no one to blame but himself for losing the one woman he will always adore. The casting of Frank Dicopoulous' daughter (please, someone supply me with her name) as Maureen Reardon is perfect. She's a lovely girl who, with that dark hair and piercing eyes, could easily be the child of Matt and Vanessa.

I loved seeing Brigett and Nola come to Matt's side, and offer him the comfort of family support. Guiding Light, at it's best, has focused on family - on extended family, unconventional family, family hardship, family love - and the Reardons are one of the greatest families Springfield has ever seen. I'm sad we're not getting more of them as the show folds.

The Couples

Billy and Vanessa


So cute together. Maeve Kinkead looks as if she's so happy to be home. Having spoken to her just a day after shooting was over, I know that she was incredibly moved by the experience of ending Guiding Light, and by how much the show had touched people over the years. I may be imagining it, but I think it really shows. When I look at the veterans of the show as they recite some of their final lines, it seems to me that they're giving it their all for the fans.




Buzz and Lillian




Buzz started out in Springfield as a man-on-the-make, a true con man, a hustler. With his pierced ear and street swagger, and a phony name that sounded as if it had been lifted from Valley of the Dolls (Anyone else remember Rex Mancini?) he promised to be Springfield's next smooth operator. He's emerged as the town curmudgeon, but with a heart of gold, and some inexplicable charm that women find irresistible. (The man was this close to marrying Olivia Spencer, for heaven's sake!) He and Lillian are a perfect pair. He needs the steady, reliable love of a good woman who won't bail on him. She needs to take the occasional walk on the wild side.

James and Daisy

Cute. That is all. If there were a future for Guiding Light, they would almost certainly be the next Phillip and Beth.

Phillip and Beth

This episode belonged to Grant Aleksander, but more about that later.

How long have fans waited for this? Phillip and Beth have danced this dance for something like 25 years, and all I can say is: Whew! Thank God they found their way back to one another. Soap opera proposals rarely move me - they happen so frequently - but Phillip's impassioned proposal moved me to tears. He and Beth Chamberlain have amazing chemistry, and their real life affection for one another shines through. I know this will be considered blasphemy in some circles, but Beth Chamberlain is the REAL Beth. Judi who? The belong together. Case closed.

Blake and Frank

I know a lot of people hate Frank, but I don't. I want him to find happiness. And I love Blake. These two have been friends for years, and they used to be friends-with-benefits. They don't exude smoldering passion, but thats ok. Frank will never have another Eleni. Blake will never have another Ross. But they can have one another and make it work. We already know they're sexually compatible, and that's half the battle, when it comes to Blake. And, really, Blake looked smoking hot in that dress. Why didn't Frank notice that? Oh, yeah - he's the one who didn't notice the loving looks between his fiancee' and her best friend.

Olivia and Natalia


They didn't have anything major, in terms of plot development. Their story line seems to be complete. There will be no kiss. I think it's best to assume that all manner of intimacy is happening behind closed doors at the farmhouse. In public, though, they are equal parts adorable and smoking hot as they walk hand-in-hand on the beach. Olivia's red dress seals the deal, as far as the smoking hot part goes. I'm repeating myself, I know: but it's sooooo nice to see these two as a couple, among other couples, just being part of the community.



Alan/Phillip/James

I fear words will fail me, but I'll try. By the time this episode was over, I found myself steeping in a puddle of tears.

Just as Alan finds redemption and passes along some wise words to his son, we can see the father/son dynamic mirroring itself in Phillip and James. Will James ever let go of his anger, and understand that it was love - not resentment - that kept his father from allowing him to lay down his life?

Just as Phillip feels he can finally let go of the past and enjoy a relationship with his father, it's all taken away from him. I'd guessed Alan would die, and I read the spoiler. I thought I was prepared. How foolish of me! If you'd told me a year ago that Alan Spaulding's death would break my heart, I would have suggested a dose of reality. I would have been so wrong. Phillip's words to a father he doesn't realize is dead, and his subsequent reaction, ripped my heart right out of my chest. If the cemetery scene the Otalia story line cemented my long-standing respect for Crystal Chappell's acting prowess, this last episode in the Alan/Phillip saga has cemented my long-standing reverence for the talent of Grant Aleksander. Today, Guiding Light was the Phillip Spaulding show, and what an amazing show.

Yes, words failed me. Sorry I couldn't do any better.

Odds and Sods

Poor Alexandra - she's lost her best friend. But, really, Birkenstocks to a wedding? I've got a little bit of a hippie past. I own Birkenstocks. I love them. They are NOT proper footwear for a wedding.

Speaking of footwear, is there not a single member of the Lewis clan who knows the basic rule about brown shoes? For the love of God - someone help these guys.

I saw some nasty comments about Natalia's dress. Have you folks looked at maternity clothing, lately? That's one of the nicest maternity get-ups I've seen. Anyhow, WTF are you looking at the fakely pregnant woman, when the hot-ass, kettle-bell-svelte hottie in the red dress with the mad cleavage is joined at her hip? Look at Olivia, bitches...you will forget all about the powder blue maternity dress.

Danny Cosgrove is freaking adorable. I'm just saying.

Ok, this is serious: Emma. In the last few years she's been kidnapped by her crazy father, had her father disappear, witnessed the marriage and divorce of her mother and Bill Lewis, become attached to Frank and then Buzz, only to have her mother dump them both, almost died because CK1 is NOT a beverage, found out she has an adult sister, been told her mother is dying, attended her mother's freakish, impromptu wedding to Jefferey, witnessed her mother going into cardiac arrest moments after the wedding, lost her favorite uncle Gus, been shuttled around as her mother dealt with an irrational desire to die, become an aunt, only to have her nephew die and her sister lose her mind, been evicted from the Spaulding mansion, moved into the farmhouse, had her father reappear, moved back to the Beacon, witnessed a jilting, been teased at camp for not having a pink shirt, had Natalia disappear, been scared shitless by her mother's meltdown, been told her father is dying, and lost her grandfather. And Olivia was worried about telling her she was gay, why?????


Wednesday, September 9, 2009

A Day of Nines - episode breakdown

With only eight episodes to go (including today's), I've decided to write a little bit about each episode that airs. Bear with me, some of these folks have been my friends for decades. I expect this to be a little bit of a catharsis.

9/9/09

Otalia's Reunion



I'm warming up to Olivia's decision to give in and get on with the business of being officially "with" Natalia for two reasons: 1) we're running out of time, and I'll be happier to see these two end up together than apart, as the lights dim on Springfield and 2) Crystal Chappell is really good at projecting joy and wonder and, when Liv is happy, I'm happy. 

A couple of people I talked to were less than thrilled with Natalia's reaction to Olivia's "I love you" and felt she should have returned the sentiment. I'm not Nat's biggest fan right now, but I was fine with the way she handled it. First of all, I'm not in favor of saying "I love you" just because someone else has said it. Second, I thought it showed us something we hadn't really seen, lately: Natalia actually listening to Olivia, instead of just waiting for her turn to talk. It worked for me. I thought it was sweet, and I thought it was significant. 

As an old friend of mine used to say, "If you like it, I fucking love it." If it makes you happy, Olivia Spencer, I'm there. You got your girl - that's what matters. And I no longer have any expectations, except that I'll need Kleenex on September 18th.

Naming the Baby: Cut a Guy Some Slack



So, we have Liv and Nat together as head-butting, face-touching, hand-holding more-than-friends and co-moms. This does not and should not eliminate Frank Cooper from the equation. He is, after all, father of the unborn baby. A lot of fans seem to be pretty pissed at Frank for being less than thrilled about Olivia being in on the baby-naming. Frankly, the Frank-hate/man-hate is getting really old. Frank is the baby's father, period. He didn't abandon Natalia. He didn't rape Natalia. He never forced her to do anything. As soon as he found out she was carrying their baby, he made it clear he intended to be a stand-up guy. 

This is not a pregnancy story about a lesbian couple who hired a sperm donor. It's a pregnancy story about a man and woman who had sex and a relationship that didn't pan out, and who are now expecting a baby that they both intend to parent, even though they are not a couple. It's really not all that unusual a situation. The fact that the mother-to-be's new partner is a woman is the only element that's not what we usually see. Pretend Olivia isn't the hottest woman you've ever seen but, instead, a guy. Some guy Natalia is in love with and wants to marry. Because that's the role that Olivia has in this equation. Do you think it would be a given that Natalia's husband-to-be would have a part in the naming of the baby she was carrying, even though the baby's father was 100% in the picture? No, he wouldn't. It seems clear from the way the baby-naming scene played out that Natalia hadn't mentioned to Frank that she expected and had invited Olivia to have an equal role in naming the baby. Frank's reaction, then? Completely reasonable and logical. 

Also, Frank gets points with me for suggesting they wait and see what the baby is like before naming her. Blake and Natalia's theory that a kid who isn't named before birth will end up with a complex is, simply put, retarded. Naming a baby before she's born is fine. So is waiting to see what a baby is like. A complex? Just stupid.

Edmund/Jefferey

This story is stupid. Who cares? How did Jefferey get a job in law enforcement when he can't shoot a man standing five feet away? I don't give a damn.

The Spaulding and Raines Families


Sweet Jesus, are they trying to kill me? I've become weepy so many times this past week due to Phillip's fake disease, that I've lost count. I don't care that it's a made-up disease that they never even bothered to create a name for. I don't care that Grant Aleksander is way too robust and healthy looking to play a guy who has just days to live. I don't care that Zack Conroy has one of the stiffest bodies I've ever seen on a teenager (is his spinal column fused at the neck?) I don't care that it's ridiculous the way Lizzie is not pregnant, even though the actress playing the part so obviously is. All I know is, Phillip and Alan and Alex and Beth and Lillian have poured their hearts out, time and again, and I love it. Today was awesome. Beth and Phillip! Beth and Lillian! (side note: are they the best-looking mother/daughter team this side of Holly and Blake, or what?) James and Phillip! Alex and Alan! 

Reva, Josh, Jonathan

I don't give a good goddamn.

History

Kudos to whoever had the good sense to have Olivia and Alex's encounter end in a an air hug that was as uncomfortable as Natalia's fake baby bump. That scene is exactly as it should be.